Super Power

I am sharing with you all a poem that I wrote back in Nov of 2012.  It was inspired by my then 5 and a half-year old.  One day in all seriousness she said to me, “Mommy do you know I have a Super Power?”  I thought she was playing and asked her what her super power was.  Her reply floored me and brought tears to my eyes.  She said, “I can pray and there is power in prayer.”  Some times our children become the teachers and we become the students.
I told her yes indeed there is power in prayer.  We talked about how “Jesus is the only real Superhero.”  That was a theme of one of the Vacation Bible Schools she had attended that Summer.  I pointed out that if we pray in His name and for God’s will in every situation life will be so much easier.
She is now in a private Christian school and every day one of the things we pray for is the protection of the blood of Jesus over our friends, who either go to school or work in non-Christian friendly environments.  Each day as a I drop her off the door is opened a dedicated worker.  I can not tell you the peace it brings me that she is being prayed for throughout the day by her teachers and other staff members.  I have seen these employees stand in cold, rain and snow to keep the children warm and dry at pick up time.  I wish all children could have staff like the ones at her school.
Please as you make out your prayer list think of the children of this country.  The times we grew up in are gone.  They took prayer out of school.  One day a year they have Prayer at the Pole.  It must be student lead.  They are not being taught the truth of our country’s Christian heritage.  Girls and boys are instead being taught to be politically correct.  They are being lied to by grown ups, who are telling them wrong is right.  Creationism is being laughed at by teachers.  Instead Evolution is being shoved down their young throats.  If they can’t believe the truth of Genesis,  we will not be able to tell them the rest of God’s word is correct.  So please folks use your super power for the children of this country.  They are not the future of the church but the present.            
     I Have a  Super Power
I have a super power
you have never heard it called that before
No I have never held up a falling tower
I can’t leap tall buildings in a single bound
but I know in my weakness where strength is found

No I can’t see things through a wall                                                                                                                                       but with this super power                                                                                                                                                           I can talk to a God Who hears me when I call

I have never been able to fly                                                                                                                                                       like a bird way up  in the sky                                                                                                                                                       but I know in times of trial of tribulation                                                                                                                                   when I get on my knees                                                                                                                                                             I can find peace

I don’t have bionic hearing                                                                                                                                                       but when I am still and silent                                                                                                                                                       I hear the voice of the One Whose Son was sent

You see my super power is prayer                                                                                                                                            if you believe it is meaningless                                                                                                                                              please remember it changed the mind of the King of Kings                                                                                                 with prayer we can do great things                                                                                                                                       Yes this power has gotten men out of many a mess                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       This is the only power that can save the human race                                                                                                                 for when you use this super power                                                                                                                                        you can be saved by grace

Leave a Reply

