Parent’s Sorrow

Years ago when I wrote Promised Land on the anniversary of my mother’s death, the Lord directed me to redo the middle section on the loss of a child.  He told me that I needed to make it fit more people.  I had a conversation with Him.  I told Him that He knows I don’t like to share my work.  I worry too much about what others might think or say.  He reminded me that our talents are a gift from Him that He has the right and power to take away.  So I did what He said and shared those words.  I was amazed that so many were touched so deeply.

That was 16 years ago.  That poem has been altered to suit so many friends situations.  I have written others on the loss of a loved one but not until now has God laid it on my heart to write one especially on the topic of losing a child. I have to tell you this was the hardest one I have ever written.  I don’t mean that I had problems finding words to rhyme or line up.  This was emotionally draining.  I have had it in my head for months but feel the need to share it for Mothers’ Day.  I know tomorrow will be hard for some of you.  It is my prayer that the temporary discomfort I felt will bring peace to some of you with the words He has given me.  I no longer care of folks like my work but that they are touched by God through me.  I think my mom would be proud.

  • I was there for your first heartbeat
  • could not wait for the day we’d meet
  • I never expected to be here for your last
  • Time just seemed to go to fast
  • It was not part of my plans
  • when I counted the fingers on your tiny hands
  • There is joy mixed with my sorrow
  • of knowing for you there is no tomorrow
  • For to be absent from the body is to be present with the Lord
  • the one, Who paid the price we could never afford
  • Yes His word gives the blessed assurance that you are
  • standing beside the maker of the sun, moon and stars
  • Today your with the author of our salvation, the giver of amazing grace
  • You have sung “Jesus Loves Me” right to His face
  • You’ve been reunited with every loved one
  • whose earthly race is done
  • I wonder as you’re walking on those streets of gold
  • Have you run into any of the saints of old
  • Did you have a chance to chat with the one you are named for?
  • or any of the other folks whose accounts you so adore
  • I know that I have to let you go
  • but some days the tears will just flow
  • However, there is such peace in knowing that I will see you again
  • Yes you and I will be back together after I have knelt before our God in heaven
Leave a Reply

