Overcoming depression

I have not written a blog in a while.  I have been busy being a mom, a friend and doing stuff for church.  Something happened last week that I just have to talk about with you my readers.

Years ago when my daughter was small, we were part of a preschool group.  It was an awesome time for her to play and me to fellowship with Christian women, who were walking the journey of mother hood with me.

One night I fought with Facebook to post a note of encouragement on one of the other mother’s wall.  I was about to give up when I felt the Holy Spirit saying no.  I don’t remember what I posted.  However, I will never forget her words to me the next time I saw her in person.  “You don’t know it but you saved my life that night.  I had a bottle of pills opened and in my hands.  I heard the click of a message and when I read it I put them back in the bottle.”

I am telling you this story so you know if you feel the Lord leading you to do something do it.  No matter how small.  You never know the impact your actions will have on others.  Also you do not know what trials and tribulations others are dealing with.  Please be the light in this dark world we are living in.  Shine brightly and show His love.

Depression is a demon that targets people of every race, age and sex.  This woman fought it bravely.  She knew how to fight because she was a Marine Veteran.  However, last week I was told that she was hit by a train on a railroad track.  No one knows if it was an accident or her desire to end the pain.  What we do know is there is a mother less child that will be crying herself to sleep for a long time to come.

Please if you are battling this war yourself remember we serve a God, who has promised to never leave us or forsake us.  He sticks closer than a brother.  When He went up in the sky, Jesus told us He was leaving behind the Comforter.  He created you with a purpose.  He gave you talents and gifts to use for His glory.  God has work for you to do.

Satan is the father of lies.  He tells us that if God loved us he would not have allowed things to happen.  He puts drugs in the path of folks to self medicate pain and in turn they become addicted to a high that the poison is giving them.  I beg you not to fall for his schemes.

Instead listen to the voice of God as He whispers, “I love you.”  Get in His word and find His words of encouragement.  Psalm 23: 4 says, “ Even though I walk  through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”  If you need help seek it.  Call your pastor or a friend to pray with you.  My hope today is that those reading this remember Who they belong to.  You are a child of His.  If He is for us, who can be against us?  Resist the Devil and He will flee.  

Leave a Reply

