Thanking God for a Rainbow Baby

A little over a year ago I saw the term rainbow baby for the first time.  I read about how a child that is born after miscarriages is called a rainbow baby.  The story touched me deeply because of my friend that I have mentioned to you all in a previous blog.  I began to pray without her knowing to have a rainbow baby of her own.

Last Fall she told me she was pregnant again and I was so happy for her.  I told my then 7-year-old daughter and she began to pray for the baby.  My little girl said,  “She had one baby.  She is my best friend but the other babies went to heaven to be with Jesus.  Please God let her keep this baby in her belly until it is time for her to be born so we can hold it and play with it when it is bigger.

A little while later doctors told her she was miscarrying again.  She resigned herself to the fact that her little girl would be an only child.   However, weeks later she discovered that the doctors were wrong.  The baby was very much alive

For the rest of her pregnancy she was told a variety of health issues the child had.  I told her to stand strong and on faith.  She said she did not care what was wrong with the baby she would love it anyways.  After months of that doom and gloom, she went to an appointment where the doctor told her he believed the baby girl was fine.

A little over a month ago I told her I don’t know why God allows the things to happen he does.  I will never know the reason He chose to take the other babies home to be with him.  I do know that the Lord has big plans for this little girl though.

This week I held that little rainbow baby for the first time.  She is a wee one but she is here.  Little baby noises never sounded as beautiful and baby smells were never as sweet as when you hold a child you were told might never be.

If you are reading this and longing for a rainbow baby of your own, my prayers are with you.  While we don’t know why God allows what he does I am so glad that he holds ever tear we have ever cried in His nail pierced hands.  His heart breaks when ours do.  We are never alone.

Leave a Reply

